sound recordings SACD

SACD MFSL Rickie Lee Jones - Pirates

Rickie Lee Jones - Pirates (Hybrid SACD)

RLJ's second album was recorded in Hollywood in January 1980, but it did not appear until the summer of 1981. Then the actually rather bulky work actually came in 5th place on the American billboard charts, and the critics overcame Rickie Lee Jones with praise for their courage to make a difference with the second work. It is indeed a mixture of pop, jazz and soul, which is underlined by wonderful piano pianos.

The work is tremendously sound and the impulsive vocal style of the crystalline voice fits perfectly with the dynamic play of the band. Here is the particularly sensitive work of David Sanborn on the saxophone on "Pirates" and "Woody and Dutch". Donald Fagan and Victor Feldman are also well-known guests of the band.

The MFSL re-mastering under Rob LoVerde offers the factory in absolute airiness and powerful dynamics with minimal band noise of the analog tapes. The re-issue will appear in the Mini-LP cover with accompanying text and serial number.


  1. We Belong Together
  2. Living It Up
  3. Skeletons
  4. Woody and Dutch on the Slow Train to Beijing
  5. Pirates (So Long Lonely Avenue)
  6. A Lucky Guy
  7. Traces of the Western Slopes
  8. The Returns

The best sound is achieved by using L'Art du Son CD / DVD Conditioner before playing.

Customers who bought this product bought also the following products:

* Prices incl. 19 % Tax excl. Shipping costs, ** suggested retail price
© 2018 Rö-HiFi GmbH