sound recordings SACD

SACD MFSL Art Pepper - ... the way it was!

Art Pepper - ... the way it was! (Hybrid SACD)

There are albums that are forgotten. There are recordings that never appear. And sometimes there is the special case that a musician remembers some old recordings and insists on publishing them. For 16 years, the tapes of this recording of 1956 stored in the archives until they finally appeared on vinyl in 1972, because Art Pepper did not want them to fall into oblivion.

Since the jam session with Warne Marsh (tenor saxophone), Ronnie Ball (piano), Ben Tucker (bass) and Gary Frommer (drums) was too short for an album with only four songs, of Art Pepper in alternate versions. So we are still experiencing Red Garland and Wynton Kelly at the pianos.

In spite of the considerable old sounds, the recording does not sound like a bit occupied or outdated but rather as if real professionals have put together to revive the sound of the late 50s.

This is the first MFSL recording with Rob LoVerde as a sound engineer. An absolutely successful debut!

This title is limited to a quantity of 2,500 worldwide and has an ongoing serial number!


  1. I Can not Believe That You're In Love With Me
  2. All The Things You Are
  3. What's New
  4. Tickle Toe
  5. The Man I Love
  6. Autumn Leaves
  7. The Way You Look Tonight
  8. I Can not Believe You're In Love With Me (alternate take)
  9. All The Things You Are (alternate take)

The best sound is achieved by using L'Art du Son CD / DVD Conditioner before playing.

* Prices incl. 19 % Tax excl. Shipping costs, ** suggested retail price
© 2018 Rö-HiFi GmbH