sound recordings SACD


Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong - Ella & Louis (Hybrid SACD)
If two artists are so far, that they just have to name an album with their first names, then no questions arise. It is almost unimportant that the cast otherwise still composed of Oscar Peterson on the piano, Herb Ellis on the guitar, Ray Brown on the bass and Buddy Rich on drums. And since this recording was banished in 1956, the probably most important mono recording in the history of jazz is produced.
The hybrid SACD sounds somewhat more discreet on the CD track than the almost instantaneous Ultra HD mastering disc from FIM and is therefore especially to the owners of SACD players to heart. Whoever can only listen to the CD track should therefore access the FIM version.
This recording is part of a series of 25 Verve re-issues at Analogue Productions. The original analogue tapes will be reworked at Sterling Sound in New York by senior mastering engineer Steve Marino. Many of the tapes have been sent to other labels for decades, but Sterling Sound works so closely with Universal Music as the Verve label's owner company that it is occasionally an exception. The hybrid SACDs sound excellent and clearly outshine early digitization.
  1. Can not We Be Friends
  2. Is not this a lovely day
  3. Moonlight in Vermont
  4. They can not take that away from me
  5. Under a Blanket of Blue
  6. Tenderly
  7. A Foggy Day
  8. Stars Fell on Alabama
  9. Cheek to Cheek
  10. The Nearness of You
  11. April in Paris
* Prices incl. 19 % Tax excl. Shipping costs, ** suggested retail price
© 2018 Rö-HiFi GmbH